So most of the "bad" aspects of running a fansite come from people who don't want to follow said rules or guidelines. Here are some of my pet peeves involving rules:
- People who don't read the rules and guidelines..worse is when they don't even feel guilty that they didn't .. you get excuses like "I didn't have time" , "figured a mod would fix it" etc..
- People who purposely break rules. These are people who don't like rules..so they break them just to cause problems.
- People who ONLY want to post "negative" comments about a celebrity. There will always be times when a fan doesn't agree with something a celebrity says or does.. or a role they choose .. however, I don't see the point in joing a "FAN" site and then only posting negative comments. It makes me wonder why the person considers themself a fan??
- People who are not "realistic" about the celebrity. This is probably the opposite of the people who only write negative things. Some fans put celebrities on pedastals and feel that they can do no wrong. They post nothing but gushy "isn't he/she wonderful" .. "he/she" would NEVER do that!" etc... These same fans attack anyone who dares to disagree as being not a "good fan" as if a true fan would never say anything negative about the celebrity.
- People who cry that they are being "picked on" when they are told that they broke a rule. I hate when mods are called "mean" or "bullies" when all they are doing is enforcing rules.
- People who cry "censorship" when certain topics are not allowed on a forum. If it's listed in the rules as not being allowed.. such as religious or politcal discussion.. or topics that are found to be disrespectful to the celebrity.. they should know it's not allowed and just not post it to begin with.
- People who refuse to use the "search" function before starting a post. They say "I don't have time" or "It's too confusing" etc.
- People who feel that they just HAVE to start NEW topics.. as if it's an obligation. When I have told people that a topic was not appropriate or had been discussed a million times already.. I've actually been told "Do you know how hard it is to think of new topics?" Who said they HAD to start any??
- People who start threads and then feel that they can "control" what is posted as replies. They often take any opposing view points as being mean. I tell them.. if you are afraid of what the response will be.. don't ask the question! And nothing makes me madder than when people tell people with opposing view points to "stay out of a thread".
I'm happy to say that at the sites I run.. we don't have many of these problems anymore. We had some "growing pains" early on, but for the most part the trouble makers have given up and left.. with a handful being banned ( more on that in the "Ugly.." ) or the new people have learned to work within the rules. I do belong to a site where there seems to be a large group of people who came into an "established" site.. and seem to want to change the tone of the site. It's become very depressing because they have managed to run off alot of the original members.
Basically it boils down to people who want to work within the guidelines of a forum or fansite. In an earlier post I said that people should find fansites that are a "good fit" for them. There are Fan Sites that are not very moderated or that do not have very many rules. These are usually the sites where "anything goes".. where gossip and paparazzi photos are allowed. I tell people on my sites that if they don't like the rules .. find one of those sites. I'll never understand why people will stay at a Fan Site that has rules that they don't agree with.
No comments:
Post a Comment